A powerful tale of war, redemption and a hero s journeyIn , Joey, a beautiful bay red foal with a distinctive cross on his nose, is sold to the army and thrust into the midst of the war on the Western Front With his officer, he charges toward the enemy, witnessing the horror of the battles in France But even in the desolation of the trenches, Joey s courage touches the soldiers around him and he is able to find warmth and hope But his heart aches for Albert, the farmer s son he left behind Will he ever see his true master again Such a touching hero s tale and such a daring point of view for its audience I am not an animal person to the chagrin of my family members and the beginning chapters of this book just ripped my heart out of my chest and stomped on it For Joey to be a survivor and still have such love in his soul is so moving. This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers To view it, click here In the tradition of National Velvet and Black Beauty, War Horse is a moving tale of a horse and a time The horse is Joey The time is World War One After bonding with thirteen year old Albert at the family farm, Joey is sold to the Army by Albert s struggling dad And so the adventure and a series of encounters with a wide range of people begins An image from Spielberg s magnificent film from AOLThey run the course from a loving teenage French girl to cruel Teutonic warriors, from kindly B In the tradition of National Velvet and Black Beauty, War Horse is a moving tale of a horse and a time The horse is Joey The time is World War One After bonding with thirteen year old Albert at the family farm, Joey is sold to the Army by Albert s struggling dad And so the adventure and a series of encounters with a wide range of people begins An image from Spielberg s magnificent film from AOLThey run the course from a loving teenage French girl to cruel Teutonic warriors, from kindly British officers to equally generous German soldiers Joey bonds with another horse in his tour of duty, as a sort of big brother Even without dialogue Morpurgo conveys their attachment This is a book clearly written for a YA reader, maybe even a Y without the A It is written simply and is easy to read Joey is presented as a remarkable steed, and is lavished with enough appreciation to make an adult gag at times, but keep the hankies handy as there is very moving heartbreak as well In addition, Morpurgo offers commentary on war and a look at the horrors entailed in that War To End All Wars War Horse is a fast, enjoyable, emotion rich read, even for an old oater like me.I read this in anticipation of the film being released in December 2011 It was, IMHO, amazing, not only capturing the essence of the book, but doing so in a lush, classical format that was a pure joy to behold So it s sappy So what It is a great film that does justice to a great book And John Williams score for the film was spectacular as well War Horse War Horse 1 , Michael Morpurgo War Horse is a children s novel by British author Michael Morpurgo It was first published in 1982 The story recounts the experiences of Joey, a horse purchased by the Army for service in World War I France and the attempts of young Albert, his previous owner, to bring him safely home It formed the basis of both an award winning play 2007 and an acclaimed film adaptation 2011 by Steven Spielberg 2013 War Horse War Horse 1 , Michael Morpurgo War Horse is a children s novel by British author Michael Morpurgo It was first published in 1982 The story recounts the experiences of Joey, a horse purchased by the Army for service in World War I France and the attempts of young Albert, his previous owner, to bring him safely home It formed the basis of both an award winning play 2007 and an acclaimed film adaptation 2011 by Steven Spielberg 2013 1392 189 20 2015 189 I can hate you , but I ll never love you less This book is so beautiful in many ways I wanted to weep all day after I finished War Horse is very unique because it s told by Joey, a horse being thrusted into the war on the Western Front The story is innocent, yet it s so sensational and full of angst from the characters I felt attached to the story from the first chapter and couldn t peel my eyes off then Morpugo created such a striking story about the war with a horse and a boy t I can hate you , but I ll never love you less This book is so beautiful in many ways I wanted to weep all day after I finished War Horse is very unique because it s told by Joey, a horse being thrusted into the war on the Western Front The story is innocent, yet it s so sensational and full of angst from the characters I felt attached to the story from the first chapter and couldn t peel my eyes off then Morpugo created such a striking story about the war with a horse and a boy trying to find each other I could perceive about everything through this book and lost a lot of tears by reading only They fight a war and they don t know what for Isn t that crazy How can one man kill another and not really know the reason why he does it, except that the other man wears a different color uniform and speaks a different language I can read this book and watch the movie without getting bored And Tom Hiddleston always slay me with his acting skills.http goo.gl l0memd